Skip to page content | Track My Order | Leave Feedback | Login | Register | Customer Services | FREE STANDARD UK DELIVERY OVER £50!

Search

Store Finder - Find a Store

Download store coupon Download store coupon Download store coupon

Scarpa SL M3 Men's Mountain Boots Reviews

CORE-BMAA-66002N
Average Review:
  • 5 out of 5
Sort By:

10 customers have reviewed this product
Share your thoughts with others
 

All Reviews

  • 5 out of 5
Scarpa SL M3 - an excellent buy., 16 March 2013
By Dan
These are a fantastic pair of boots. I bough them last year for a 3 week expedition in Mongolia last summer. They were absolutely fantastic - they remained fully waterproof and provide very good ankle support. The quick lace system makes it easy put them on and off. The grip these boots offer is incredible and we found the people with scarpa boots were OK walking down sections of steep, smooth rock without much of an issue, but no other make of boot was up to it. I was lucky to get this at a very good price and was incredible value for money, but I would have happily paid more. I would strongly recommend these boots or any other scarpa boots!
  • 5 out of 5
SCARPA SL M3, 06 August 2012
By dwrob (Chelmsford)
After a lot of research and looking around, I came across these boots at a very good price. I recently took them out on a 3 week trekking expedition to Mongolia and they served me very well. They offer great support, grip and comfort. I had no blisters or any other boot related issues. I would highly recommend this pair of boots, especially at such great value.
  • 4 out of 5
good buy, 14 April 2012
By Graeme (Northamptoshire)
Bought these after carful consideration and excellent price. These are extremly comfortable for what is a relativly heavy 4 season boot. I wore them initially around the house for 3 days and then took them for a two day walk in the lakes covering about 40 miles, including snow, river crossings, bogs, boulders shale etc, great comfort and dry feet would definitly recommend especially at this price
  • 5 out of 5
great boots, 27 January 2012
By jamesandgelert (Southampton)
saw these on offer and bought them. so comfortable and offering great support. These boots will deal with all types of terrain up to the snowline and all year round. very water resistant. The one peice leather is very resistant to scratches and wear from rocks. I did worry about the high support for the ankle being too high but after wearing these boots for walks of some distance i havnt found them to be a problem. used in Wales, scotland and sweden. hard wearing and supportive, they feel a touch heavier than some other boots but not a issue that would stop me buying them again.
  • 4 out of 5
Sad end to an otherwise happy relationship..., 22 November 2011
By AndyB_1972 (Edinburgh)
I bought a pair of SLM3s back in June 2009. I made my purchase after carefully researching 4-season, crampon-compatible boots and finding nobody had a bad word to say about these. I'm a keen Munroist and I did around 50 Munros that summer season, in all weathers. I didn't get off to the best of start with the new boots though, as they were much more rigid and supportive than my old Ranger GTXs. My first walk (double Munros 'Cruach Ardrain' and 'Beinn Tulaichean') ended with my feet in pretty bad shape - probably a bit ambitious for brand-new boots. I had to 're-teach' myself to walk in these stiffer, heavier, much more supportive boots as I found myself not lifting my feet high enough and was forever tripping on embedded stones on paths. I also had to invest in orthopedic insoles, better socks and even use sock liners for long expeditions like South Shiel Ridge. That said, with this preparation, the boots have performed flawlessly since then, be it summer or winter. I've even had the joy using them with C1 crampons and scrambling up a frozen waterfall in them on Ben Ledi. I've never had a blister, fallen, turned my ankle, or had wet feet through failure of the boot itself (I did get wet feet after an 8 hour battering on Arran once, but I reckon that was my waterproofs giving in). Sadly though, after only a couple of years, I find myself in the unexpected position of looking to replace my SLM3s. The soles have many miles left in them, the outer leathers are still in perfect condition but the inners are disintegrating. Where the black leather meets the boot liner just above where your achilles is, the stitching has failed on both boots. I returned them to Scarpa when I noticed it starting on one boot and they said they would attempt a repair. I was a little disappointed when the boot was returned with little more than some sort of sticking plaster covering the split seam. This peeled off almost immendiately... Anyway, now the other boot has failed in the same way and the rough edge of the black leather at the split makes the boots to painful to use for long walks. I don't want to mark the boots down too much as they've been brilliant until now and they have taken a pounding but I've looked after them and they should've lasted longer. I may replace them with the new Scarpa SL Activ.
  • 5 out of 5
Brilliant, sturdy walking boot, 11 October 2011
By Lakker (Sheffield)
Could not ask for more, brilliant value for money, extremely comfortable, sturdy and reliable, all in all this is a quality boot that's built to last and a pleasure to ware, will not be buying any other boot anytime soon :)
  • 5 out of 5
Excellent boots, 29 December 2010
By Alexis (London)
These boots have done my feet a wild of good!

They are warm, waterproof and comfortable from day one, though if you're used to a softer boot the B2 rating of these will take some adjusting to when walking on the flat.

I've stepped in streams up to my knees and barely got any water inside. They're warm in the snow and ice and have good grip even on icy walls. The leather can be easy to scuff on any loose rock but doesn't affect the performance of the boot it seems.

I'd highly recommend these boots
  • 5 out of 5
Good sturdy boots, 22 November 2010
By Paul (Sunderland)
I have been wanting these boots for quite some time and when I had the money to buy them with the 10% price guarantee, I stole the chance to purchase them, I haven't had them in the snow yet as am still wearing them in but they are very sturdy very stiff boots and I would say if your used to wearing summer boots you may be in for a shock for how stiff these are, I can't fault the design its weather proof and with a bit of care will stop weather proof with the use of nik wax, I have a slim foot so I din't get the wide bxx one's but you can feel the sole of these boots gripping on to the bottom of your foot well pleased and if your after a winter boot without it being the full on mountaineering winter boot this is the best option and thanks to the price guarantee I got them for £137.65
  • 5 out of 5
cant get better for money., 16 February 2010
By paul (newcastle)
very pleased with these boots, have had a lot of boots over years, im a ex soldier so always wear boots, always have from morning to night from just knocking about to hill walking, after buying these the next day had on from early doors till late at night, no hot spots or hurty bits. very pleased. think i'll be staying with SCARPA, spot on
  • 5 out of 5
Amazing Boots, 16 February 2010
By Dave (Liverpool)
After reading trail magazine i agree these boots are amazing having used them in Snowdonia, and the lakes. No problems with my feet and and even in bad weather they kept my feet superbly dry and comfy even after 10 hours of walking.
Featured Brands