Skip to page content | Track My Order | Leave Feedback | Login | Register | Customer Services | FREE STANDARD UK DELIVERY OVER £50!

Search

Store Finder - Find a Store

Download store coupon Download store coupon Download store coupon

Hi Gear Rock 5 Canopy Reviews

CORE-TCFE-ZHG815
Average Review:
  • 3 out of 5
Sort By:

12 customers have reviewed this product
Share your thoughts with others
 

All Reviews

  • 5 out of 5
Rock 5 Canopy, 23 January 2014
By Go Girl (Nottinghamshire)
Love the tent and Canopy. So much room with the canopy. However, does anyone know where I can get the more solid metal poles that come with the extension canopy. I want them for my main tent. I can't find them anywhere. Been in touch with Go Outdoors and they don't seem to be able to help. Please can anyone help?

Thanks
  • 3 out of 5
Mixed feelings about this product..., 11 August 2013
By Dave & Wayne
The canopy provides a great amount of extra space, and the big windows give it a light and airy feel - excellent for sitting out when the weather is less than ideal. However.... last weekend we had some serious wind, and the canopy just doesn't stay attached to the tent. The overlap from the canopy to the tent isn't wide enough, and it needs something to attach it higher up. I remedied the situation by tying two spare guy ropes to the top end of the canopy's own ropes, and pegging them to the ground by the base of the middle tent pole. This meant we couldn't use the side door, which isn't too much of a sacrifice. One good thing - even though the canopy came detached, it stayed solid even in gale force winds - luckily, as we had left a table and two camping stoves under there overnight! If it stayed attached, I'd give it 5 stars.
  • 1 out of 5
Not an all weather protector, 04 August 2013
By family campers
unfortunately we had to return this canopy back to go outdoors after its first trip.
We fiund the canopy to start with very stable and easy to fit, we followed the instructions well and after reading some negitive reviews we wanted to proove campers wrong.
The canopy was great whilst there was no wind, loved sitting underneath it in the rai and sun. However the wind picked up and despite pitching in the direction of the wind, the wind wipped round the sides, because you cant pull the tent front guy ropes out to the side when the canopy is on the tent cant hold shape when the wind blows from the side, so the canopy kept popping off.
looking at the Vango tent of the same design as the Rock 5 (luckly on our campsite) we noticed their canopy attched with a guy rope higher up, we moved the guy rope to attach to the tents 2nd pole, which meant we couldnt use the side door, but it helped a bit.
such a shame coz with just some minor cosmetic ajustments this canopy could be great. if the lip if the canopy was bigger and went over the whole of the first section of the tent it would solve the problem, also making the lip a little narrower to allow the tent guy ropes to go out to the sides.
  • 4 out of 5
Hib Gear Rock 5 canopy, 21 July 2013
By aquamark (Runcorn)
People seem to have mixed thoughts on this canopy. We have just had a week in Weymouth with no issues. The instructions are not very good for a novice. I found that if you route the outer most guys at the front of your tent inside the canopy and flat agianst its inner sides. Pegging them out just in front of the canopy. It is much more stable and does not sag in the middle. We had some high winds and the canopy overlap stayed well connected to the tent.
  • 1 out of 5
Poorly designed, 13 July 2013
By shellbell
The canopy really let the tent down :(
It isn't designed properly as it falls off the front of the tent. Where it attaches to the tent results in the tents guy lines not being able to be pegged properly, which meant the tent sometimes caved in at the front.
Such a shame this isn't designed better.
  • 4 out of 5
A great addition, 23 June 2013
By SammyB (Wakefield)
I just got back from a weekend where we attached one of these to our Blackrock 5 tent. I managed to do most of the assembly myself with a couple of minutes help from my daughter. We had some periods of rain and moderate wind and it was fine. Not had some of the issues in other reviews. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that I was surprised at how big/heavy the packed canopy is for what it is - which I now realise is due to the bulky poles which take up about 50% of the volume and make up most of the weight. Space can be important when packing the car.
  • 5 out of 5
A good addition, 29 July 2012
By Mike
We purchased the canopy which was an excellent addition to the Rock 5 tent increasing the amount of space to cook etc. It was extremely windy where we were pitched and we had no concerns with the structure / design of the product. I would recommend this canopy to a friend.
  • 1 out of 5
Rock 5 Canopy, 28 July 2012
By Ian (Leeds)
I am very disappointed in this canopy. The way it attaches to the tent is very poor. The overlap is only just enough to get it hooked over the front pole by a few inches and any cross wind causes it to separate from the tent as we found out the first time we used it in Scotland this week. We had to take it down and pack it away which was a great shame as it was a very useful when it was attached.
The canopy we were sold also looks nothing like the one in the picture on here. If it had the amount of overlap shown in the picture I feel sure we would not have had these problems.
  • 1 out of 5
Rock 5 canopy, 07 June 2012
By Ali (Caerleon)
Very disappointed, difficult to attach. The slightest breeze or knock the porch detached itself from the tent. Not fit for purpose. I'm taking it back for a refund.
  • 3 out of 5
Canopy for rock 5, 23 September 2011
By Tan&paul (Newcastle)
We originally bought a different tent but there were no accessories available so I exchanged and paid a bit more for the rock 5, we bought the carpet and canopy too, we headed to Scotland for the august bank holiday in Ayr. The tent went up ok and the canopy too although it was tricky to figure out as it was not like the pic at all, we were woken early hrs to windy conditions and the sound of flapping tent, upon investigation it was the part of the canopy that you put over the front hoop of ya tent, it kept coming off despite tightening the ropes etc of the canopy to the ground etc. It was a nightmare and kept coming off all night. It's great but not good in side wind, we think it's due to the front tent pole moving in the wind which allows the canopy to come away as the way to secure the canopy is not sufficient. All round with a decent extra ground sheet it's a great extra area for cooking etc and the windows allow extra light.
  • 2 out of 5
hi gear rock 5 canopy, 11 September 2011
By granny (whitburn)
was really disappointed with this canopy. needs two people to put it up. if there is any wind it comes of the tent. and if you pull guy ropes too tight it makes the door panel of tent buckle.
  • 5 out of 5
Rock 5 canopy for Caplan 5 tent, 31 August 2011
By Matt (Canvey Island)
My wife and I bought this canopy at the last moment to fit our caplan 5 tent, we were going camping in france and the weather forcast wasn't good.
Our canopy was slightly different from the pictured as it has a window on either side ( a better improvement.) It is held in place by a draw string which loops over the tents first hoop.
It needs two people to assemble and when done provides a good area to cook or eat in.
We were both pleased with the result and felt it was money well spent, and yes the weather was bad!
Featured Brands