Skip to page content | Leave Feedback | Login | Register | Customer Services | FREE STANDARD UK DELIVERY OVER £50!

Search

Store Finder - Find a Store

Download store coupon Extra 20% off clothing

Merrell Men's Moab Mid GTX XCR Shoes Reviews

SEAS-BMBB-86901
Average Review:
  • 4 out of 5
Sort By:

22 customers have reviewed this product
Share your thoughts with others
 

All Reviews

  • 2 out of 5
Disappointing, 17 February 2014
By mooseman (cardiff)
Bought these last year and wore through the summer. They are quite comfortable but lack support over rough terrain. However, when it comes to wet weather you'd do almost as well to wear sandals. They very quickly get wet through and are now consigned to sunny spells. Merrell really should do better.
  • 2 out of 5
fully waterproof = rubbish, 07 January 2014
By mtbchris (bolton)
10 minutes in heavy rain and my socks were soaked. Not acceptable for the money shoes. Northface gtx dont after 2 years i have them also.. i wont buy merrills again.. :-(
  • 2 out of 5
Colander boots, 20 November 2013
By Knightonday (France)
Moved to France two years ago so bought these boots as they were really comfortable and are "waterproof". Two years on, after mainly road use walking the dog, the uppers are splitting from the soles and they leak immediately. Any wet outside, my feet are wet. The soles look hardly worn underneath so having paid well over £100 for them, very very disappointed.
  • 4 out of 5
Great boot, 29 October 2013
By Cushtie (Rochdale)
For the sake of balance, this review follows a previous negative review of the Hi-gear boots I has problems with. Firstly, well done to the staff at the store, no problems with swapping the inferior boots I had. These Merrells are SO comfy and have not leaked like the Hi-gear ones. You gets what you pay for. So true.
  • 5 out of 5
No blisters !!, 29 October 2013
By Zazenmind (Neath)
I bought these boots for my sons first DofE walk, he wore them straight from the box and not a blister in sight ! Pretty impressive...
He says they are really comfortable and the water proofing worked well.
In all a really good buy, I would recommend them.
  • 2 out of 5
Merrell Men's Moab Mid GTX XCR Shoes, 21 October 2013
By SD (Bristol)
As a woman with wide feet I usually purchase men's walking boots for a wider fit. I bought the boots within the last month. They are very comfortable and was assured by the shop assistant that the Goretex would ensure my feet were always dry. This is not the case! In view of the price of the boots I am disappointed. The boots are used for daily dog walking, nothing too arduous!
  • 1 out of 5
wet weekend, 03 October 2013
By ash (andoverwet weekend)
have had two pairs. 1st had for 2 years but only covered 180 miles in them befor they started leaking in right foot.Go out doors wouldn,t replace as to old, so bought a pair of gortex socks to get full use. 2nd pair bought in sept for three day walk in wales ,ground wet but not sodden, top of toes depth. both boots leaked within 1 hour of walking, wet and sore feet all weekend, lovely. Money back ,but nothing else given.these boots aparently only have gortex upper not a full sock ?
  • 5 out of 5
everlasting, 04 July 2013
By ryan (worksop)
i bought these over two years ago. As well as wearing them for walking in the peaks i wear them every day cycling and walking to work. The soles have only just started wearing. I have never cleaned them with any products or water proofed them, i have just let them dry off and gone over them with a stiff brush. Not let one drip or drop of water in yet. I'm submitting this review because I've come on her to look for another pair! The only compliant i have is that the insole on on shoe slipped to the side but nothing a spot of stupid glue couldn't sort.
  • 1 out of 5
hugely disappointing, 29 May 2013
By DG (CHIGWELL)
I purchased these boots on the strength of having Merrell footwear in the past which have been comfortable and hard wearing. The quality of materials now seems to have plummetted. Although very comfortable the right boot leaks like a seive because the toe piece has perished all round the welt exposing the canvas. The left boot is also well on the way with identical degrading. This is not the quality I would demand of a 5 month old product at this price. Buyer beware!!
  • 1 out of 5
Very disappointed, 20 February 2013
By Fletch (Neath South Wales)
My first pair of these boots were brilliant , this influenced me buying a second pair which leak like collanders . This is a pity as otherwise these are a very comfortable boot a a pleasure to walk in when dry . I noticed that other reviewers have experienced the same problem . Verdict give this brand a miss !
  • 5 out of 5
Velvet Toes, 09 February 2013
By MattHusala (Lancashire)
Brilliant shoe, waterproof, hardwearing and very comfy. I've had these for a year or two and the only niggly problem is that the velvet/ faux suede on the left toe has worn and looks unsightly, but hey! who's going to notice in the middle of a wet field in the Lake District?
  • 2 out of 5
Comfy but leak, 19 January 2013
By dogwalker (Bristol)
I was initially very pleased with these boots as they are very simiIar to the Moab Ventilator shoes which I've found to be extremely comfortable. What I wanted something similar but taller and waterrproof and I thought these were an excellent choice. Unfortunately exposure to wet grass fpor an hour left me with a cold and slightly wet right foot. Thinking that water may have got over the low cut tongue I dried them out and tried again but with similar results. Thinking that I had a rogue pair I took them back to the Bristol branch who were very helpful and exchanged them with no fuss. Another wet day walking, however, and I had another wet right foot. I've now got a refund and given up on these boots - they're very comfortable but, as a previous reviewer noted, they do feel cold when they get wet on the outside and mine also let water in. I can only conclude that quality control has taken a dip recently as all previous reviews (up to 19th Dec 2012) seem to rate waterproof qualities highly.
  • 1 out of 5
Not impressed, 19 December 2012
By Steve R (Flintshire)
Bought these a month ago. Very comfortable but waterproof? No. Only used for walking the dog so far and first real test was a couple of days ago. Just puddles really but the left hand boot leaked. also not impressed with GO. They would not replace, as their policy apparently says they go back to Merrell, which can take up to 28 days! Won't be buying Merrell again anytime soon.
  • 4 out of 5
Great , waterproof boots, 29 October 2012
By JasonFerry (Edinburgh)
These are great for chucking on and hitting the trails, no break in time and are like wearing slippers, they are so comfortable. They are reasonably light and being mid provide support on the ankle. As with all boots a half or full size bigger is recommended. They have great waterproofing and feet are left bone dry after many walks including traversing many ankle deep wetlands on recent walks. The only downside I've found so far is the amount of time taken for the exterior suede to dry out (3-5 days). This is even after a couple of generous coats of Nikwax. The wet outside then makes the inside feel colder when putting the boots back on. I've not worn these over winter so can't comment on their cold weather prowess but I would give them a hearty recommendation for three season, pull on and go trail boots.
  • 5 out of 5
great boots, 26 September 2012
By marshfieldman (wiltshire)
Bought these on a recommendation from a friend in USA. NO BREAKING IN JUST WENT FOR 10 MILE HIKE OVER BRECON BEACONS
HIGH WINDS RAIN.
GROUND WATER ALL OVER THE PLACE
DEEP BOGS
THE WORKS !! GRAET TEST FOR NEW BOOTS
THE ANSWER SUPERB DRY NO INGRESE OF WATER VERY COMFORTABLE
NO BLISTERS
SAME CAN NOT BE SID FOR MY OLD LEGS !!!
BOUGHT FROM BRISTOL SHOP
THANKS TO OWEN GREAT SERVICE
  • 5 out of 5
Best Walking boots I have had., 20 September 2011
By Whiff
Just bought my second pair of these. The 1st did me proud and lasted 3 years walking the West Highland Way and countless weeks in the Lake District. Very comfy and never had any blisters. Rugged enough to take most of what the UK's mountains can throw at you. A must have.
  • 5 out of 5
moab, 06 September 2011
By mow (manchester)
I used these on the Pennine Way. These boots are light and comfortable. They are great for long walk especially where there are stretches that are paved due to the cushioning in the sole.
  • 5 out of 5
Must have shoes!!, 20 July 2011
By Fish (North East)
Just came back from lakes where I climbed Helvellyn in the howling rain on the Saturday and went ghyll scrambling on the Sunday - both days wearing my Moab Mid GTX. They were great for grip over Striding Edge and great for getting soaking wet on the Sunday. They have dried out perfectly. Best shoes I have had in ages.
  • 5 out of 5
Like a Glove, 22 December 2010
By Lowrey7 (Reading, Berkshire)
I purchased these boots a couple of weeks ago as im off to Macchu Picchu next year for my honeymoon. Luckily the recent bad weather has given me a good opportunity to test out the boots.
I must say i'm delighted with my purchase. I read many reviews prior to making my decision and these boots are as comfortable as people say they are. I would highly recommend these to anyone.
  • 5 out of 5
Sublimely comfortable, 27 October 2010
By Solar Cycles
I recently purchased these, and they are without doubt the most comfortable pair of boots I've worn. Add into the equation a really grippy vibram sole, with excellent cushioning, and plenty of room for my wide feet, And we have the perfect 3 season boot, which can cope with the high tops of the lakes, and the boggy moors of the Pennines. A must for anyone wanting an excellent, comfortable, value for money boot
prev 1 2 next
Featured Brands