Skip to page content | Leave Feedback | Login | Register | Customer Services | FREE STANDARD UK DELIVERY OVER £50!

Search

Store Finder - Find a Store

Download Store Coupon Download Store Coupon

Berghaus Expeditor AQ™ Suede Men's Walking Boots Reviews

CORE-BMAD-20936
Average Review:
  • 3 out of 5
Sort By:

22 customers have reviewed this product
Share your thoughts with others
 

All Reviews

  • 3 out of 5
Average, 09 June 2014
By JT (Taunton)
Comfortable, but I found them to be not waterproof when walking through wet grass.
  • 3 out of 5
Nice boot but damp, 26 May 2014
By Steve (Stockton on Tees)
I gave a review of these boots in Nov 2013 and stated that they kept my feet dry. I have now noticed recently that water is seeping in, what feels like, through the mesh on the front of the boots. I still like the boots and they are a vast improvement on my old Karrimors. I've only used them to walk the dog except one walk around Grasmere and Rydal Water then a walk up to Easedale Tarn in the lakes. The boots were fine but I wouldn't use them for anything more rugged or higher up the fells as they are a low level easy trail boot.
  • 3 out of 5
Berghaus Expeditor AQ boots, 16 April 2014
By vivann (Suffolk)
An update to my earlier review - the boots were definitely leaking, water was entering through the fabric part of the upper. I took them back to Harlow where the footwear chap kindly offered me a refund or replacement immediately, instead of waiting for Berghaus to test the boots, this was to save me a trip as I live an hour away.

I will continue to purchase products from Go Outdoors, they deserve a 5* rating for service.
  • 3 out of 5
Berghaus aq boots, 26 March 2014
By Vivann (Suffolk)
I bought these boots in January - I would have preferred the Goretex boots but they didn't have an 8.5 in stock, or at least they were not offered. I didn't wear them for a month as I was unsure about them, also weather so wet walks were cancelled or I used wellies. I have worn these boots 2-3 times a week since the beginning of March and find that although they fit well, they make my feet hurt!! They also get very warm. Recently I was out in the rain and I strongly suspect they are letting in water. I will test this more thoroughly. Also noticed that on wet tarmac or concrete there is a tendency to slip - not helpful. My old Line 7 Goretex boot which these replaced were better.
  • 3 out of 5
Great for the pub, 11 February 2014
By Tinribs (Scotland)
Excellent boot for nipping down the pub or into town which is what I bought them for. Having previously had two pairs of Berghause boots I know these will leak and fall apart if I shake a damp blade of grass at them so I won’t be trusting them anywhere near a mountain. If you want a pair of really good and truly waterproof walking boots get yourself over to the Scarpa or Altberg isle and pay good money for great boots.
  • 1 out of 5
Wet feet on first use, 25 January 2014
By Wild man Of Borneo (South Devon)
I purchased these boots from the Plymouth store this morning. This afternoon I went for a walk around some local footpaths to try them out. The weather today was dry, but the ground was wet and muddy from prior rainfall. They were comfortable and supportive but sadly failed on the fundamental point that they were not waterproof. They let in water where the upper meets the sole, and through the fabric panels on the toe. My gaiters were covering the other fabric parts, so I am unable to say if they would have leaked or not. The assistant in the store said she had been told by the Berghaus rep that the waterproof membrane in these boots would perform as well as gore-tex or event. This is quite plainly not the case. Given the price and the respected brand I am more than a little disappointed. It also begs the question, how much must you actually pay these days to get genuine waterproof gear? Needless to say I shall be returning these glorified trainers to the store tomorrow for a refund.
  • 2 out of 5
Not waterproof for long.., 02 January 2014
By Bucko (Lincolnshire)
I originally bought these boots for walking my spaniels and shooting. Out of the box they were very comfortable and a great fit as i often struggle to get the sizing right but the 10.5 was perfect. Ive worn the boots every day for the last 4 weeks covering between 5-7 miles on gravel paths and fields with no problems until this weekend. I joined my friend for a hike in the hills above Ladybower reservoir and by the end of the 6 mile walk the left boot was leaking. I inspected the boots and found the boots are leaking on the seam where the upper meets the sole unit. Poor build quality maybe and not what I would expect after only a month of wear...Im contacting the seller asap.
  • 1 out of 5
Awful!, 22 November 2013
By ricky54 (Cumbria)
I was tying between the Gore-Tex GTX boots and these. I chose this garment because AQ2 is a good piece of material for walking in the fells! As soon as they arrived they were in good condition! As always I test them to see if they operate properly but in the soggy mud it leeks in and will only last in the rain for 10 minutes! The soul may look tough and rugged but it just wears away within 50 mins approx! I would not recommend this to any fell walking lover, pay the extra £15 for the Gore-Tex, they operate well and are sturdy!
  • 4 out of 5
Dry feet at last, 20 November 2013
By Steve (Stockton on Tees)
I bought these boots to replace some relatively new Karrimore boots which just weren't waterproof even though they were advertised as such. I've used Karrimore boots for years for walking the dog but never had a waterproof pair and was getting fed up of cold wet feet. The Berghaus boots feel better quality with a better sole. They are comfortable but most of all I now have nice dry feet. I've only used them to walk the dog but have been out in some heavy rain and they have remained waterproof. I would happily use them for low level walks and higher up on the fells in good weather. You get what you pay for.
  • 2 out of 5
Disappointed with Berghaus, 18 November 2013
By CarlL (Shrewsbury)
After many years of using Berghaus's excellent products I was very disappointed that one of the boots leaked water at the very first use. I was able to exchange the boots at another Go Outdoor stores, but with reluctance. The replacements are water tight but are not a patch on the quality of my other Berghaus boots. This experience will make me consider other brands in future when making a purchase.
  • 5 out of 5
Dry feet, 06 November 2013
By Bob (Billingham)
A very nice boot that was comfortable and kept my feet warm and dry after a torrential down pour.
  • 1 out of 5
Wet Feet, 26 October 2013
By SaintAndreus (Hampshire)
NIce boots, very comfortable immediately, no breaking in and quite smart too! Third time out in wet conditions both boots leaked from the front toe area. Returned them to the store and got a refund. Reluctant to try another pair, I've heard too many poor reviews of Berghaus's cheap AQ2 system. Going back to Goretex.
  • 5 out of 5
Just perfect, 18 October 2013
By Peter D (Heriot)
Did what it said on the tin. Perfect pair of boots, light, comfortable, fit for purpose.
  • 5 out of 5
So far so good., 02 October 2013
By Andrew (South wales)
Had these a little over a month now. They have been very comfortable, warm and dry. Worn on a number of hill and grassland walks. Some quite wet and muddy. Much better than my last pair of boots.
  • 4 out of 5
Berghaus Expeditor AQ Suede, 01 October 2013
By John (Verwood)
I needed some comfortable and reliable boots as previous purchases from other retailers had proved useless value for money! Tight for time and a day away from climbing Snowdon during the August bank holiday I decided to break them in on that climb along with a pair of blister proof socks. These were the comfiest boots I have ever had with no rubbing or blisters at all after 7hrs on Snowdon. Have continued to wear them on every walk since and even at work on grounds maintenance. Great boots for the price.
  • 3 out of 5
Budget Berghaus, 28 September 2013
By EddyO (Dorset)
Like all Berghaus boots i've tried, these were comfortable straight out of the box. In fact. I liked them so much that I bought two pairs as they were on offer. Not such a great move in retrospect because after a couple of hours in them, I can't wait to take them off. This AQ system that Berghaus have come up with as a cheaper alternative to Goretex is nowhere near as good in terms of breathe-ability and the result is hot and damp feet.
  • 5 out of 5
Wide feet, 30 July 2013
By Sam (Sheffield)
I really needed some reliable boots and had already semi-decided to buy these before I went to the store. When I got there the assistant told me I have quite wide feet for a woman so recommended I try the men's version (these boots). He was totally right! They are the comfiest shoes I have ever had, in all styles. Comfy straight from the box. No rubbing or blisters at all after a testing walk up Kind Scout which also proved their waterproof status! Great boots for the price.
  • 5 out of 5
So far, so very good, 17 June 2013
By Michelle (Sheffield)
Bought these for my son. First time on he walked 18 miles in the Yorkshire Dales with no problems at all. He has thin feet and ankles and struggles to find a good fit but these have ticked all of the boxes so far.
  • 5 out of 5
Excellent boots so far!, 14 June 2013
By PaulQ (Oxfordshire)
Very pleased with these boots. I've been out twice in them so far, once for a few hours through wet grass and I had the only pair of dry feet in the family at the end. The second outing was a 12 hour trek through the Cumbrian mountains including Scafell Pike, Esk Pike and Bowfell. This time the weather was fine and the ground hard underfoot. No sign of any blisters and much less pain in the soles of my feet than in my old boots when I did the Yorkshire three peaks in similar weather last year. Early days yet, I know, but very pleased so far. I would recommend them.
  • 4 out of 5
Great so far, 08 June 2013
By Zara (Glasgow)
Light, waterproof and comfortable after 3 weeks of pretty much constant usage. Very happy with them so far.
prev 1 2 next
Featured Brands